The journey so far

- from the Registrar

The journey of Council of Nigerian Mining Engineers and Geoscientists (COMEG) from inception to date has been, to say the least, adventurous and challenging. It all began with the formation of the Nigerian Mining and Geosciences Society in 1961. The Society, after careful deliberations, thought it necessary to have a Council that will regulate the standards of practice of the various professions in the Nigerian Extractive Industry.

Several names were proposed for the Council. Ultimately, the name Council of Nigerian Mining Engineers and Geoscientists (COMEG) was adpoted with the help of the then Ministry of Mines, Power and Steel. However, it was not until the year 2000 that history was finally made with the formal inauguration of the Council after being set-up by Decree (Now Act) Number 40 of 1990. From a very humble beginning of occupying a one room office in 2001, COMEG has today blossomed into a force to reckon with among sister regulatory bodies with a befitting office accommodation in Abuja and two zonal offices both in Lagos and Kaduna States - Nigeria.

Our membership is over one thousand Five Hundred (1500) professionals and many corporate members. Also, the Council has undertaken accreditation visits to over thirty four (34) institutions of higher learning in Nigeria with impressive outcome and has delved into investigation of professional problems. These and many more gems mark the signposts of our journey to maturity. We are not there yet, but we have come a long way. Our vision of becoming a regulatory body that will be the pride of all professionals in the Extractive Industry is our foremost goal. We will surely deliver on our mandate.